What is DREAM?

DREAM stands for Duisburg Research in experimental Economics And Management laboratory. It is a behavioral economics laboratory. The lab offers 24 seats for participants as well as the IT infrastructure to conduct behavioral experiments. Such experiments are subject to certain ground rules. In particular, participants are remunerated financially in accordance with their decisions, the decision-making structure is clear and participants are truthfully informed about the consequences of their decisions in each experiment. Furthermore, the data generated by them is anonymised and analyzed only for scientific purposes. The laboratory is located on the campus in Duisburg of the University of Duisburg-Essen and is under the direction of Mrs. Prof. Dr. Lilia Zhurakhovska.

Back to top

What is an experiment in economics?

In contrast to experiments in psychology, sociology, and other sciences, experiments in economics are characterized by the participants earning money depending on their decisions and therefore their real behavior. During experiments, participants are given no false information regarding their decision-making possibilities and resulting payments. Experimenters do not cheat the participants.

Back to top

Who can register for participation?

All students of the University of Duisburg-Essen who have an official email address (@stud.uni-due.de) can participate in experiments in DREAM. Depending on the experiment, very good German and/or English skills are required. Thus, the language competence is queried during the one-off registration process. Experiments usually take place at PC workstations. Therefore, it is necessary for participants to be able to work on regular PC workstations.

Back to top

How can I register for experiments? / What is myDREAM?

The myDREAM-participants management system under mydream.msm.uni-due.de(LINK zur eng. myDREAM-Startseite) serves to manage the registration and signing up procedure for experiments. The lab uses this online platform for participants management. You can register with your university email address (@stud.uni-due.de) and then receive invitations to experiments. You can respond to these invitations by signing up for the respective experiment with your myDREAM-account.

Back to top

Is previous knowledge required?

In addition to language skills in primarily German and possibly English, no further previous knowledge is necessary. Having (adequate) skills in both languages is not a precondition for getting invited to an experiment.

Back to top

Where do the experiments take place?

The experiments take place in building LC in room 030. You can find a detailed directions here.

Back to top

How does an experiment work?

After registration, students regularly receive invitations to experiments. The date, the time and the maximal duration of the experiment is specified in the invitation email. After enrolling and being on time for the experiment, the experiment begins and does not take longer than indicated in the email. The distribution of the participants to the PC workstations happens at random. Before conducting the experiment, participants are briefed on the exact course of the experiment and on the possible financial consequences of their decisions in the experiment. After the experiment, the participants receive their individual earnings directly in cash and sign a confirmation receipt. This receipt is for administration purposes only. Your data is treated anonymously. That means that your decisions in the experiments are not linked to your person.

Back to top

How long do the experiments last?

Different experiments can have varying durations. The planned maximum duration is indicated in the invitation email.

Back to top

Why did I earn less/more than another participant?

Since individual earning depends on one's own decisions and sometimes on the decisions of other participants, different amounts may be paid out. In all cases, we only inform the respective participant of her payout. Other participants do not gain knowledge of your individual payout. It is possible that some experiments deviate from this rule. If so, the procedure is previously communicated.

Back to top

Do I have to arrive on time for the experiment?

Since the experiments can only begin when all the participants are present, it is essential that all participants appear on time. We recommend to arrive at the laboratory about 15 minutes before the start of the experiment. In the event of an emergency, participants can contact the laboratory management (dream (at) uni-due.de). Should a participant be late on several occasions without a valid excuse, we exclude this participant from future experiments.

Back to top

Do I have to attend in any cases, if I signed up for an experiment?

Since the experiments can only be carried out when all participants appear, it is absolutely necessary for all participants to come to the experiment. If you are nevertheless prevented from coming, you can sign out using your myDREAM-account up to 24 hours before the start of the experiment.

Back to top

Can I definitely participate if I signed up for an experiment?

Since an experiment can only be carried out if a particular number of people participates we typically invite subsitute participants. They receive a punctuality premium, but cannot participate in the experiment. Normally, it is determined randomly immediately prior to the experiment, who of the punctual people can participate in the experiment and who receives the punctuality premium.

Back to top

Will I be lied to by experimenters during an experiment or at any other time?

No. This is forbidden in experimental economics research.

Back to top

Further questions

If you have further questions, please contact the laboratory management via email (dream (at) uni-due.de).

Was ist DREAM?

DREAM steht für Duisburg Research in experimental Economics And Management laboratory. Es handelt sich dabei um ein verhaltensökonomisches Labor. Das Labor bietet 24 Teilnehmerplätze sowie die IT-Infrastruktur zur Durchführung von verhaltensökonomischen Experimenten. Solche Experimente unterliegen gewissen Grundregeln. Das Labor befindet sich am Campus Duisburg der Universität Duisburg-Essen und wird von Frau Prof. Dr. Lilia Zhurakhovska geleitet.

Zurück nach oben

Was ist ein Experiment in der Wirtschaftswissenschaft?

Experimente in der Wirtschaftswissenschaft zeichnen sich in der Abgrenzung zu Experimenten in der Psychologie, Soziologie und anderen Wissenschaften dadurch aus, dass die Teilnehmer*innen in Abhängigkeit ihrer Entscheidungen, also ihrem real gezeigten Verhalten, Geld verdienen. Im Rahmen der Experimente werden den Teilnehmer*innen keine unwahren Informationen hinsichtlich ihrer Entscheidungsmöglichkeiten und daraus resultierenden Bezahlungen gegeben. Es gilt der Grundsatz, dass die Experimentator*innen die Teilnehmer*innen nicht betrügen.

Zurück nach oben

Wer kann sich für die Teilnahme registrieren?

An Experimenten im DREAM können alle Studierenden der Universität Duisburg-Essen teilnehmen, die über eine Emailadresse mit offizieller Uni-Kennung (@stud.uni-due.de) verfügen. Je nach Experiment sind sehr gute Deutsch und/oder Englischkenntnisse vorausgesetzt. Die Sprachkompetenz wird deshalb bei der Registrierung zu den Experimenten einmalig abgefragt. Die Experimente finden in der Regel an PC-Arbeitsplätzen statt. Daher ist es notwendig, dass die Teilnehmer*innen in der Lage sind, an regulären PC-Arbeitsplätzen zu arbeiten.

Zurück nach oben

Wie kann ich mich für Experimente anmelden? / Was ist myDREAM?

Das myDREAM-Teilnehmer*innen-Management-System unter mydream.msm.uni-due.de(LINK zur dt. myDREAM-Startseite) dient zur Verwaltung der Registrierung und Anmeldung zu Experimenten. Das Labor setzt diese Online-Plattform für das Teilnehmer*innen-Management ein. Sie können sich dort mit Ihrer Uni-Emailadresse (@stud.uni-due.de) registrieren und erhalten dann Einladungen zu Experimenten. Sie können dann auf die Einladung reagieren und sich mit Ihrem myDREAM-Account für ein Experiment anmelden.

Zurück nach oben

Sind Vorkenntnisse erforderlich?

Neben Sprachfähigkeiten in vorrangig Deutsch sowie ggf. Englisch, sind keine weiteren Vorkenntnisse notwendig.

Zurück nach oben

Wo finden die Experimente statt?

Die Experimente finden im Gebäude LC im Raum 030 statt. Sie finden hier eine detaillierte Anfahrtsbeschreibung.

Zurück nach oben

Wie läuft ein Experiment ab?

Nach der Registrierung erhalten Studierende regelmäßig Einladungen zu Experimenten. Das Datum, die Uhrzeit und die maximale Dauer des Experiments sind in der Einladungs-Email angegeben. Nach der Anmeldung zu einem Experiment und dem pünktlichen Erscheinen der Teilnehmer*innen beginnt das Experiment und dauert nicht länger als in der Email angegeben. Die Verteilung der Teilnehmer*innen auf die PC-Arbeitsplätze erfolgt zufällig. Vor der Durchführung des Experimentes werden die Teilnehmer*innen in Instruktionen über den genauen Ablauf des Experiments sowie über mögliche finanzielle Konsequenzen ihrer Entscheidungen im Experiment informiert. Nach der Durchführung des Experiments, erhalten die Teilnehmer*innen ihren individuellen Verdienst direkt in bar ausgezahlt und unterschreiben einen Quittierungsbeleg. Der Quittierungsbeleg dient lediglich Verwaltungszwecken. Ihre Daten werden anonym behandelt. Das bedeutet, dass Ihre Entscheidungen in den Experimenten nicht mit Ihrer Person verknüpf werden.

Zurück nach oben

Wie lange dauern die Experimente?

Verschiedene Experimente können unterschiedlich lange dauern. Die geplante, maximale Dauer ist in der Einladungs-Email angegeben.

Zurück nach oben

Warum habe ich weniger/mehr verdient als ein/*/e andere/*/r Teilnehmer*in?

Da der individuelle Verdienst von den eigenen Entscheidungen und manchmal auch von den Entscheidungen anderer Teilnehmer*innen abhängig ist, kann es zu unterschiedlichen Auszahlungsbeträgen kommen. In jedem Fall teilen wir nur der jeweiligen teilnehmenden Person ihren Auszahlungsbetrag mit. Andere Teilnehmer*innen erfahren diesen Betrag nicht. Es ist möglich, dass in einzelnen Experimenten hiervon abgewichen wird. Dies wird zuvor jedoch explizit kommuniziert.

Zurück nach oben

Muss ich pünktlich zu dem Experiment erscheinen?

Da die Experimente nur beginnen können, wenn alle Teilnehmer*innen anwesend sind, ist es unbedingt notwendig, dass alle Teilnehmer*innen pünktlich erscheinen. Wir empfehlen ca. 15 Minuten vor Beginn des Experiments am Labor zu sein. Bei Notfällen können sich Teilnehmer*innen an das Labormanagement (dream (at) uni-due.de) wenden. Sollte eine teilnehmende Person mehrfach unentschuldigt verspätet sein, schließen wir diese Person von künftigen Experimenten aus.

Zurück nach oben

Muss ich auf jeden Fall teilnehmen, wenn ich mich für ein Experiment angemeldet habe?

Da die Experimente nur durchgeführt werden können, wenn alle Teilnehmer*innen erscheinen, ist es unbedingt notwendig, dass alle Teilnehmer*innen zum Experiment kommen. Sollten Sie dennoch verhindert sein, können Sie sich bis zu 24 Stunden vor Experimentbeginn über Ihren myDREAM-Account abmelden.

Zurück nach oben

Kann ich auf jeden Fall teilnehmen, wenn ich mich für ein Experiment angemeldet habe?

Da eine Durchführung in der Regel nur möglich ist, wenn eine bestimmte Anzahl von Personen teilnimmt, laden wir üblicherweise Ersatzteilnehmer*innen ein. Diese erhalten eine Pünktlichkeitsprämie, können jedoch nicht am Experiment teilnehmen. Wer von den pünktlich erschienen Personen am Experiment teilnimmt und wer die Pünktlichkeitsprämie erhält, wird normalerweise per Zufall unmittelbar vor Beginn des Experiments entschieden.

Zurück nach oben

Werde ich während eines Experiments oder zu irgendeinem anderen Zeitpunkt von den Experimentatoren belogen?

Nein. Dies ist in der experimentellen Wirtschaftsforschung grundsätzlich verboten.

Zurück nach oben

Weitere Fragen

Wenn Sie weitere Fragen haben, wenden Sie sich bitte per Email an das Labormanagement (dream (at) uni-due.de).